DIRTcar Nationals

Sweet, Strickler Surge to Victories on Night 2 at DIRTcar Nationals

BARBERVILLE, FL — Feb. 5, 2020 — Kasey Kahne Racing’s Brad Sweet picked up right where he left off last season by powering to victory Wednesday in the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series Feature on night two at Volusia Speedway Park’s DIRTcar Nationals presented by Bozard Ford.

The defending World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion, Sweet swept from third to second to the lead on laps 12-14 and held off polesitter Ian Madsen to the checkered flag in the 25-lap feature on Volusia’s half-mile dirt oval.

Cory Eliason was third while recent Chili Bowl winner and NASCAR star Kyle Larson was the hard charger after racing from 14th to 4th. Sweet’s Kasey Kahne Racing teammate James McFadden rounded out the top five.

The DIRTcar UMP Modified Feature was a bit of role reversal from Tuesday’s opener with Kyle Strickler getting the best of Michael Long in the early going before David Stremme and Nick Hoffman forced their way into the battle for the lead. After working past Stremme with 7 laps to go, Hoffman set his sights on Strickler. Hoffman showed Strickler his nose going into Turn 1 on the final lap, forcing Strickler to drop from the top to Hoffman’s bottom groove in Turns 3 and 4, slicing Hoffman’s momentum headed to the checkered flag.

Hoffman narrowly held off Stremme for second as Long was fourth and Jason Hughes in fifth.

DIRTcar Nationals Race Report; Volusia Speedway Park; Feb. 5, 2020

Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions Feature (25 laps): 1. 49-Brad Sweet [3] [$5,000]; 2. 18-Ian Madsen [1]; 3. 26-Cory Eliason [2]; 4. 57-Kyle Larson [14]; 5. 9-James McFadden [6]; 6. 14-Tim Shaffer [4]; 7. 41-David Gravel [11]; 8. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild [8]; 9. 1A-Jacob Allen [5]; 10. 15K-Chad Kemenah [13]; 11. 1S-Logan Schuchart [10]; 12. 2-Carson Macedo [15]; 13. 48-Danny Dietrich [12]; 14. 2M-Kerry Madsen [24]; 15. 83-Daryn Pittman [83]; 16. 13-Paul McMahan [17]; 17. 14P-Parker Price-Miller [19]; 18. 11K-Kraig Kinser [23]; 19. 3Z-Brock Zearfoss [9]; 20. 15-Donny Schatz [21]; 21. 7-Shane Stewart [20]; 22. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [18]; 23. 21-Brian Brown [22]; 24. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr. [7].

DIRTcar UMP Modified Feature (20 laps): 1. 8KS-Kyle Strickler [2] [$1,000]; 2. 2-Nick Hoffman [8][$600]; 3. 35-David Stremme [3][$400]; 4. 18L-Michael Long [1][$350]; 5. 12H-Jason Hughes [6][$300]; 6. 23-Ryan Cripe [15][$275]; 7. 25-Tyler Nicely [11][$250]; 8. 24-Zeke McKenzie [25][$225]; 9. 17TE-Tyler Evans [12][$200]; 10. K19-Will Krup [21][$200]; 11. 36-Kenny Wallace [10][$175]; 12. 5-Curt Spalding [16][$140]; 13. 49-Brian Ruhlman [4][$130]; 14. 67-Garret Stewart [20][$125]; 15. 6A-Ryan Ayers [13][$125]; 16. 75-Terry Phillips [28][$125]; 17. 95-Michael Altobelli [18][$125]; 18. 11H-Spencer Hughes [7][$125]; 19. 3L-Jeff Leka [24][$125]; 20. 22-Dale Kelley [9][$125]; 21. 65-Todd Sherman [22][$125]; 22. 31G-Stephen Pedulla [14][$125]; 23. 19-Chad Bauer [26][$125]; 24. 99M-Mike Mullen [19][$125]; 25. 96M-Mike McKinney [17][$125]; 26. 21-Taylor Cook [23][$100]; 27. 7JA-Justin Allgaier [27][$100]; 28. 7-Drake Troutman [5][$100].

Illinois Racer Charges to Victory in Volusia’s DIRTcar Nationals Opener


Long holds off Strickler to capture first Gator Trophy of 12-night event

BARBERVILLE, FL — Feb. 4, 2020 — Michael Long surged to the lead on the opening lap of the DIRTcar UMP Modified Feature Tuesday night and fought off Kyle Strickler to the checkered flag for the first Gator Trophy of the 12-night DIRTcar Nationals presented by Bozard Ford at Volusia Speedway Park.

Long, of Fowler, Ill., used the high side in Turns 1 and 2 to keep Strickler, who started eighth, pinned to the bottom and unable to maximize his horsepower. After a couple of cautions seven laps into the race, a 12-lap green-flag run forced Long to negotiate heavy lapped traffic on the high-speed half-mile dirt oval.

“Luckily, they went to the bottom,” Long said of the lapped cars. “When you see the #8 of Strickler on the board it makes you nervous on restarts, especially going into Turn 1. I knew once I got rolling I was good. He had to out-motor me and I knew if I hit the restarts right I was going to be alright.”

Ryan Cripe wound up third while defending DIRTcar Nationals champion Nick Hoffman started 21st and powered his way to a fourth-place finish. Zeke McKenzie was fifth after starting 28th to earn Hard Charger honors.

NASCAR CONNECTIONS: Kenny Wallace raced to a ninth-place finish in the Feature while David Stremme went for a spin after contact with Cripe as they were battling for third, collecting last summer’s Daytona winner Justin Haley in the process. … Three-time NASCAR Truck Series champion Matt Crafton missed the Feature by one position in a Last Chance Showdown that also included Xfinity Series standout Justin Allgaier, who finished one spot behind Crafton, and Truck Series racer Sheldon Creed, who finished eighth.

WINGED WARRIORS: World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Cars — including drivers like recent Chili Bowl winner and NASCAR star Kyle Larson — rolled onto the half-mile dirt oval for a final tune-up session before the high-powered, winged sprint cars compete at Volusia the next five nights.

For more on the DIRTcar Nationals, go to DIRTcarNationals.com.

DIRTcar Nationals Race Report; Volusia Speedway Park; Feb. 4, 2020

DIRTcar UMP Modifieds (20 laps): 1. 18L-Michael Long [2][$1,000]; 2. 8KS-Kyle Strickler [8][$600]; 3. 23-Ryan Cripe [4][$400]; 4. 2-Nick Hoffman [21][$350]; 5. 24-Zeke McKenzie [28][$300]; 6. 5-Curt Spalding [3][$275]; 7. 2A-Donnie Moran [12][$250]; 8. 49-Brian Ruhlman [25][$225]; 9. 36-Kenny Wallace [9][$200]; 10. 7-Drake Troutman [20][$200]; 11. 99M-Mike Mullen [23][$175]; 12. 90-Jason Beaulieu [17][$140]; 13. 77-Ray Bollinger [11][$130]; 14. 7A-Shane Sabraski [22][$125]; 15. 95-Michael Altobelli [27][$125]; 16. 45J-Johnny Broking [15][$125]; 17. 22-Dale Kelley [19][$125]; 18. 2J-Troy Johnson [10][$125]; 19. O5-Dave Wietholder [16][$125]; 20. 7F-Bryan Foy [24][$125]; 21. 35-David Stremme [5][$125]; 22. 17TE-Tyler Evans [14][$125]; 23. 11JH-Justin Haley [18][$125]; 24. 7CT-Christian Thomas [26][$125]; 25. 8A-Austin Holcombe [13][$125]; 26. K19-Will Krup [1][$100]; 27. 75-Terry Phillips [7][$100]; 28. 65-Todd Sherman [6][$100].